Unbelievable! 5 African Footballers Of The Year Who Never Won The AFCON Title

They may have won the battle for African Footballer of The Year, but they lost the war for the ultimate trophy, the African Cup of Nations which many tag as the African World Cup. Here is a list of the glory gang who won a prize but lost the big prize.

George Oppong Weah

In the year 1995, an African put the spotlight on his nation, Liberia by making history as the first African to become African, European and World Footballer of the Year in one year but never got close to winning a game in the African Cup of Nations let alone the title. George was instrumental to the building of the national team of whom he single handedly sponsored  as well as being their assistant coach at Mali 2002 but they were shown they way out by one of the tournament’s favourites and continental giants, The Super Eagles of Nigeria. So little to the man who gave so much

Nwankwo Kanu

Papilo as he is known to his numerous fans both locally and internationally is a two-time winner of the CAF African Footballer of The Year Award, in 1996 and in 1999 is one of the most decorated African Footballer of all times but never scored a goal in the bi-annual tournament let alone win a title He appeared in 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008 and 2010 tournaments respectively.

El Hadji Diouf

The Senegalese bad boy with his trademark white hair, number 11 shirt and troublesome attitude as he was either arguing with the referee or scolding a team mate. In 2001 and 2002, he was crowned as Africa’s best, what would have added the biggest feather in his cap that same year but he missed the AFCON title by inches thanks to his missed penalty against Cameroun in the final of  Mali 2002.

Didier Drogba

Deadly Drog as he is called has put his football prints in the sands of time not just in African but world football. He still remains the Ivorian top scorer of all times winning the African Footballer of The Year Award twice in 2006 and 2010, he led his team to five African Nations Cup tournaments yet never won a single title though he was close in 2006 and 2012 as Ivory Coast lost to Egypt and Zambia. When Ivory Coast became African Champions in 2015, he had called it quits to international football

Frederick Kanoute

The big Malian and former player for France U-21 has  been there and done that on the continent of Africa for his nation, the Eagles of Mali and for his efforts he won the CAF Footballer of The Year 2007 and nothing more than that. Still when you mention Malian football at least his name is one of those that comes to mind.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s